Skip to content

Asian World Movie Fest unveils competitors winners

The eighth annual Asian World Movie Pageant (AWFF) unveiled its competitors winners at a star-studded occasion on Friday (11/18) at Beverly Hill’s Saban Theater. The Final Movie Present (India), directed by Pan Nalin, gained the Snow Leopard Award for Greatest Movie; Mohsen Tanabandeh garnered the Snow Leopard for Greatest Actor for world battle iii (Iran), and Hui Fang Hong was honored with the Snow Leopard for Greatest Actress for ajoomma (Singapore).

The Snow Leopard Particular Jury Award went to world battle iii, directed by Houman Seyed, and the Snow Leopard Viewers Award to Aurora’s Dawn (Armenia), directed by Inna Sahakyan. In a primary for AWFF, excellence in cinematography was honored. Kerr (Turkey) director of pictures, Andreas Sinanos, obtained the Panavision Greatest Cinematography Award together with a $60,000 Panavision Digital camera Grant of cutting-edge filmmaking gear.

Quick movies and the expertise behind them had been additionally acknowledged on the standing-room-only occasion. The Hollywood International Press (HFPA), which hosted the AWFF’s brief movie competitors, bestowed the HFPA Scholarship Greatest Quick Award of $5,000 upon director Dania Bdeir for Warsha (Lebanon/France). HFPA runner-up, Adilet Karzhoev, director of Burul (Kyrgyzstan), was honored with the StarsCollective Rising Filmmaker Award of $2,000. Moreover, the Panavision Award for Quick Movie Cinematography, plus a $15,000 digital camera grant, was bestowed upon Amirhossein Khoshbin, director of pictures on Deer (Iran).

“On this our eighth annual AWFF we now have exemplified the nice fortune of the quantity eight by screening a tremendous bounty of cinematic riches,” mentioned Georges N. Chamchoum, AWFF government director. “We exhibited movies from greater than 50 nations, and every in their very own means was emblematic of the worth of Asian voices to the trade and to audiences. The awards replicate the spirit of AWFF and the essence of what the competition stands for!”

The competitors and beforehand introduced honorary awards had been delivered throughout a music-filled ceremony hosted by actress, philanthropist, and founding father of the One Coronary heart Motion, Krista Kleiner, and actor, author, and producer Jeff Locker. Among the many evenings internationally acknowledged performers had been singer, songwriter Dam Vinh Hung and Ha Phuong, singer, actress, and founding father of the Ha Phuong Basis–both born in South Vietnam.

The entire awards checklist is as follows:

AWFF Competitors Winners

  • Snow Leopard for Greatest Movie – The Final Movie Present (India), Pan Nalin, director
  • Snow Leopard for Greatest Actor – Mohsen Tanabandeh, World Conflict III (Iran)
  • Snow Leopard for Greatest Actress – Hui Fang Hong, Ajoomma (Singapore)
  • Snow Leopard Viewers Award – Aurora’s Dawn (Armenia), Inna Sahakyan, director
  • Snow Leopard Particular Jury Award – World Conflict III (Iran), Houman Seyedi, director
  • Panavision Greatest Cinematography Award and Panavision Digital camera Grant – Andreas Sinanos, cinematographer, Kerr (Turkey)
  • Hollywood International Press Affiliation Scholarship Award of $5000 – “Warsha” (Lebanon/France), Dania Bdeir, director
  • StarsCollective Rising Filmmaker Award – Adilet Karzhoev, director, “Burul” (Kyrgyzstan)
  • Panavision Award for Quick Movie Cinematography – Amirhossein Khoshbin, cinematographer, “Deer” (Iran)

AWFF Honorees (Beforehand Introduced)

  • Snow Leopard Award for Excellent Cinematic Achievement – Park Chan-wook, author, director, producer
  • Snow Leopard Lifetime Achievement Award – Albert S. Ruddy, producer
  • Snow Leopard Rising Star Award – Desmond Chiam, actor, author, producer
  • The Bruce Lee Award, in partnership with the Bruce Lee Basis – Daniel Wu, actor, martial artist, director, producer
  • Girls Tiffany Circle American Purple Cross Braveness to Dream Award – Dr. Michael Dao and Dr. Linh Bui, physicians and philanthropists
  • Winn Slavin Humanitarian Award – Truong Ngoc Anh, philanthropist
  • One Coronary heart Award – Love Life Studying Basis, co-founders Alan Vo Ford and Jenny Ai Trinh Thai
  • Angel Benefactor Award – Jennifer McCormick and Lani Netter, Girls Tiffany Circle American Purple Cross
  • Angel Benefactor Award – Raghu Kilambi, CEO/CFO, Energy Faucet Hydrogen Fueling Company

The eighth annual Asian World Movie Pageant occurred November 9–18 in Los Angeles and featured 20 submissions for the Greatest Worldwide Characteristic Movie Oscar. Seventeen movies screened in competitors.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *